Academic Calendar

Institutional Graduation Regulations

MacEwan University has institutional graduation regulations for all Ministry-approved programs. Each student must fulfill all of the following regulations in order to be eligible to graduate with a MacEwan University credential. Details are available in the University’s Graduation Policy and other relevant policies as noted below.

Academic Residency – A student must complete at least 50 per cent of courses through MacEwan University. Challenge examinations, transfer credit and other special assessments (for example, prior learning and recognition) are not included in the 50 per cent. Approved exemptions are noted in the program section.

Attendance – A student must comply with any course or program attendance and punctuality requirements as noted in degree or program regulations, course outlines or program handbooks. In addition, sponsored students may have special attendance requirements.

Graduation Grade Point Average – A minimum Graduation Grade Point Average (GGPA) of 2.00 on the 4.00 scale is required. For an Honours major, a minimum Graduation Grade Point Average (GGPA) of 3.00 on the 4.00 scale is required. 

Graduation with Distinction - Students with a Graduation Grade Point Average (GGPA) of 3.7 or higher shall receive a credential “with Distinction.” Students must complete all residency requirements to receive this distinction. A notation will be made on the student’s transcript.

Minimum Course Grade – The minimum passing grade for a course at MacEwan University is a D unless otherwise noted. Some programs may require the achievement of a specific grade in a course for graduation purposes. For specific course grade requirements, refer to your program of study.

Minimum Transfer Grade – A minimum course transfer grade of D is required except when a higher grade is specified as a program requirement for graduation – see “Minimum Course Grade” in the Program of Study (Inter-Institutional Transferability Policy).

Non-duplicative Coursework – Each course completed for credit or for which transfer credit is granted may be used only once for credit towards fulfilling any program requirement.

Prerequisites/Co-requisites – Each student is responsible for fulfilling each course prerequisite(s) or co-requisite(s) as listed in the course description (Student Rights and Responsibilities Policy).

Program Time Limit – The period of time permitted for completion of program requirements varies by credential type and starts from the first day of the term of acceptance for all credential types as follows (Program Time Limits Policy):

  1. Certificates – 4 years
  2. Post-Diploma Certificates – 3 years
  3. Post-Basic Certificates – 3 years
  4. Diplomas – 7 years
  5. Applied Degrees of two year duration – 6 years
  6. Applied Degrees of four year duration – 10 years
  7. Baccalaureate Degrees – 10 years

Approved exemptions are noted in the program section.

Repeating Credit Courses – A student in a credit course shall be allowed to repeat any course one additional time, regardless of whether the initial registration resulted in a failing or passing grade. However, completed credit will only be granted once for each course. For the overall graduation evaluation, the course with the highest grade will be used to fulfill graduation requirements and calculate the Graduation Grade point Average. Course Withdrawals (W) and Audits (AU) do not count as course attempts (Repeating Credit Courses Policy).

Required English Course – A student in a Ministry-approved program shall take an English course as specified in the Program of Study (Required English Course Policy).


A comprehensive listing of all university policies may be found on the University’s website at

As a student, it is your responsibility to know and understand the university policies that apply to you. If you have questions about a policy, contact your program or the Office of the University Registrar.